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, the defendant in this case, has been charged with the crime of sexual abuse of a minor in the second degree.

To prove that the defendant committed this crime, the state must prove beyond a reasonable doubt each of the following elements:

(1)
the defendant knowingly aided, induced, caused, or encouraged [initials of child] to engage in [the lewd touching of another person’s genitals, anus or breast] [the lewd touching by another person of the child’s genitals, anus, or breast] [masturbation] [bestiality] [the lewd exhibition of the child’s genitals]

(2)
the defendant was 16 years of age or older at the time the defendant aided, induced, caused, or encouraged [initials of child] to engage in the conduct described in element (1); and

(3)
[initials of child] was under 16 years of age at the time [initials of child] was aided, induced, caused, or encouraged to engage in the conduct described in element (1). 

USE NOTE

The following term is defined in other instructions:



"knowingly" - 11.81.900(a)

Alaska Statute 11.41.455(a) refers to "actual or simulated conduct." The committee has not resolved whether both terms apply under AS 11.41.436(a)(4).

The defendant may raise a mistake-of-age defense.  AS 11.41.445(b).  Steve v. State, 875 P.2d 110 (Alaska App. 1994), discusses how the defendant’s awareness of the victim’s age is not part of the state’s case and why the state has no burden of proof on this issue.  The case clarifies that the statute is not strict liability because the defendant is allowed a defense of reasonable mistake of age upon which the defendant bears the burden of proof.  Steve, 875 P.2d at 115-16.

Alaska Statute 11.41.445 does not allow a reasonable mistake of age defense when the victim is under 13 years of age; however, the Alaska Court of Appeals found in State v. Fremgen, 889 P.2d 1083 (Alaska App. 1995), that not allowing such a defense, when the victim is under 13 years of age, violates a defendant’s due process rights under the Alaska Constitution.

