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INSTRUCTIONS FOR REQUESTING A PROTECTIVE ORDER 
AGAINST STALKING OR SEXUAL ASSAULT 

 
 
Step 1. Fill out the following forms: 

 a. Petition  (CIV-752) 

 b. Request for Service of Protective Order Documents  (DV-125) 

 c. Law Enforcement Information Sheet (DV-127) 

 See instructions on pages 2-4.  If you need help, a court clerk can help you. 
 
Step 2. Take the forms to the clerk’s office at the nearest court.  There is no fee for filing 

them.  Some courts will also allow you to file them by fax. 
 
Step 3. If you are requesting an immediate 20-day “ex-parte” order, a judge will review your 

petition soon after you file it and decide whether to issue the 20-day order.  The 
judge may need to ask you questions about your petition in a short hearing. 

 
Step 4. If the judge decides to issue the 20-day order, the order must be served on 

(delivered to) the person who is stalking or sexually assaulting you (called “the 
respondent”) by a peace officer.  

 
Note if the Respondent is Outside Alaska:  The Alaska State Troopers will assist with 
the service of orders on a respondent who resides outside of the State of Alaska. 
AST will contact a law enforcement agency in the area where the respondent is 
located to request assistance in service of the order. AST will send a copy of the 
order to the law enforcement agency for service. If you need assistance in having an 
order served outside Alaska, you can call Alaska State Trooper Judicial Services in 
Anchorage at 907-264-0699 or contact your local state trooper post. 

 
Step 5. If you request a long-term order, the court will schedule a hearing to be held before 

the 20-day order expires.  Both you and the respondent will be given a chance to 
speak at this hearing.  You must attend the hearing and explain why you want the 
order, or no long-term order will be issued.  

 
Court Hearings 

 
The court will notify you of any hearings in your case.  You may ask to participate by telephone 
rather than in person (for example, if you do not want to be in the same room with the 
respondent). 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://public.courts.alaska.gov/web/forms/docs/civ-752.pdf
https://public.courts.alaska.gov/web/forms/docs/dv-125-one.pdf
https://public.courts.alaska.gov/web/forms/docs/dv-127.pdf


Page 2 of 7 AS 18.65.850 - .870 

CIV-751 (11/19)(cs)(duplex) Civil Rule 65.1 
INSTRUCTIONS – STALKING OR SEXUAL ASSAULT PROTECTIVE ORDER 

How to Request a Modification 
 
After the court issues the protective order, the petitioner or respondent can ask the court to 
change (modify) the order.  Use form DV-131, Request to Modify Protective Order (also available 
at the clerk's office). 
 
To decide most requests, the court will hold a hearing and notify the petitioner and the respondent 
to participate.  If the person making the request fails to attend the hearing, the court will deny the 
request. 
 
 

How to Request an Extension 
 

A long-term protective order is effective for one year.  You can file a request to extend the 
protective order 30 days before it will expire, or 60 days after it expires, if it is necessary to protect 
you. The court will schedule a hearing at least 10 days after your request, notifying both you and 
the respondent to participate. If the court grants the extension, the protective order will be 
effective for an additional year.  
 
Step 1. Know when your current protective order expires so you can figure out when it the 

right time to file a request to extend.  If your protective order expires, there will be 
no protective order in place until the court grants the extension.  If you do not have 
a protective order in place, see http://courts.alaska.gov/shc/shcdv.htm#0a for 
information about resources and safety planning.      

 
Step 2. File DV-132 to request an extension within 30 days before your current protective 

order expires, or within 60 days after.    
  
Step 3. Repeat Steps 1 and 2 if your protective order is expiring and you need another 

extension because it is necessary for your protection. 
 
Important: Request an extension more than 10 days BEFORE your protective order expires to 
avoid a gap in having an active protective order. If you request an extension less than 10 days 
from when your protective order expires, the hearing on the extension will happen after your order 
expires. This means there will be no protective order in place unless and until the court grants the 
extension.   
 
 

How to Request a Dismissal 
 
After protective order has been issued by the court, the petitioner or respondent can ask the court 
to end (dissolve) the order. Use form DV-133, Request to Dissolve Protective Order (also available 
at the clerk's office). 
 
To decide most requests, the court will hold a hearing and notify the petitioner and respondent to 
participate.  If the person making the request fails to attend the hearing, the court will deny the 
request. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://public.courts.alaska.gov/web/forms/docs/dv-131-one.pdf
http://courts.alaska.gov/shc/shcdv.htm#0a
https://public.courts.alaska.gov/web/forms/docs/dv-132-one.pdf
https://public.courts.alaska.gov/web/forms/docs/dv-133-one.pdf
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How to Fill out the Petition Form 
 
Fill in the top of the form as shown in the following illustration: 
 

IN THE DISTRICT/SUPERIOR COURT FOR THE STATE OF ALASKA 

 AT  City Where Court is Located 
 
  ) 

 Your Full Legal Name ) 

Petitioner Date of Birth Your DOB ) 

 Identifies as:  Male   Female ) 

v. Check your gender  ) 

 ) CASE NO.   

 Stalker’s or Assailant’s Full Legal Name ) 

Respondent Date of Birth Stalker/Assailant’s DOB ) PETITION FOR 

 Identifies as:  Male   Female ) PROTECTIVE ORDER 

   Check stalker/assailant’s gender )  Stalking  Sexual Assault 

 

 Check which type of order you are requesting 
 (protection against stalking or sexual assault) 

 
Type or print clearly, using black ink. 
 
1. In section 1, check the appropriate box or boxes. 
 
 20-Day.  Check the first box if you want an immediate 20-day "ex parte"1 order.  An ex 

parte order is an order the court can grant without first giving the respondent notice of 
your request and an opportunity to contest it.  An ex parte order will be effective for 20 
days unless the court dissolves or modifies it sooner.  If you check the first box, you must 
also check one of the two boxes indented after it, explaining any efforts you have made to 
notify the respondent that you are requesting a protective order. 

 
 Long-Term.  Check the second box if you want a long-term protective order.  A long-term 

order can only be granted after the respondent is given notice of your request and an 
opportunity to contest it at a court hearing.  The respondent must receive notice of the 
hearing at least 10 days before the hearing.  The long-term order will last for one year. 

 
 Both.  If you want both the immediate protection of a 20-day order and the longer term 

protection of a long-term order, check both boxes. 
 
 
2. In section 2, check the boxes that describe how you know the respondent, if you know the 

respondent at all. 
 
3-4. In sections 3 and 4, check the boxes that fit your situation. 
 
5. In section 5(a), check the box that describes what you are afraid of, and in section 5(b) 

explain why you are afraid. Please be as specific as possible. 
 

                                                 
    1 "Ex parte" is a Latin expression, meaning from one side only of a dispute, without notice to the other 

party. 
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6. In section 6, describe what the respondent did or is doing to stalk or sexually assault you. 
For stalking, describe what the respondent is doing or has been doing that frightens you 
and how respondent’s conduct qualifies as “repeated acts of nonconsensual contact”. For 
both sexual assault and stalking, include dates and places. If minors are involved, do not 
write their names, only initials and dates of birth. IMPORTANT: Consult the definition of 
stalking on page 6-7, or the definition of sexual assault on page 7 to see whether your 
specific situation qualifies for a protective order. 
 

 STALKING SEXUAL ASSAULT
 

“Nonconsensual contact” means 
any contact with you without your 
consent.  Some examples are: 

a. following or appearing within 
your sight, 

b. approaching or confronting you 
in a public place or on private 
property, 

c. appearing at your workplace or 
residence, 

d. entering onto or remaining on 
property that you own, lease, 
or occupy, 

e. contacting you by telephone, 

f. sending mail or electronic 
communications to you, 

g. placing an object on, or 
delivering an object to, 
property that you own, lease, 
or occupy, 

h. following or monitoring you 
with a global positioning device 
(e.g., GPS) or similar 
technology, 

i. using, installing, or attempting 
to use or install a device for 
observing, recording, or 
photographing events 
occurring in the residence, 
vehicle, or workplace used by 
that person, or on the personal 
telephone or computer used by 
that person. 

 
AS 11.41.270(b)(4) 

 
“Sexual assault” means engaged in a 
sexual act without your consent, and it 
includes some sexual acts involving 
minors.  Some general examples are: 
 
a. you did not consent to the sexual 

act,  
 
b. you were not capable of giving 

consent because you were 
incapacitated, 

 
c. you were not capable of giving 

consent because you were unaware 
the sexual act was taking place, or 
due to mental disability, 

 
d. respondent’s attempted sexual act 

resulted in your serious physical 
injury, 

 
e. respondent was your legal guardian, 
 
f. you were under 13,  
 
g. you were 13, 14, or 15 and the 

respondent was at least four years 
older than you, 

 
h.  certain situations where you were 

under 18, the respondent was over 
18, and the respondent was in a 
position of authority over you (for 
example, your teacher, coach, 
employer, or religious leader).   

 
AS 11.41.410 - .450 
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7. In section 7, check the boxes and fill in the blanks for all the provisions you want the judge 
to include in your protective order. 

 
8. In section 8, you must list all civil or criminal lawsuits that you know of involving you and 

the respondent, individually or together, in Alaska or another state.  You and the 
respondent have the responsibility of telling the court of any lawsuits that involve either of 
you that arise while a petition for protective order is pending and while a protective order is 
in effect.  

 
9. In section 9, fill in as much of this information about the respondent as you know. The 

court needs respondent's mailing address and telephone numbers so the court can send 
paperwork to him/her and notify him/her about hearings. 

 
10. In section 10, if possible, you need to fill in an address where the court can send 

paperwork to you. Do not fill in the actual physical address where you are staying 
if you think it might be dangerous for the respondent to know where you are.  
Instead, give a message address (for example, a friend’s address) where you can be sure 
you will quickly receive any papers the court sends to you. 

  
 The court also needs a phone number where you can be reached or where messages can 

be left for you.  List a number it is all right for the respondent to know (since the 
respondent will get a copy of your petition).   

 
If there is no phone number or address that can safely be revealed to the respondent, ask 
the clerk how you can provide the information so that it will be kept confidential and not 
revealed to the respondent. 

 
11. Signature Section.  Your signature on the petition must be notarized.  Do not sign the 

petition until you are in front of a notary public or a court clerk.  A court clerk can notarize 
the petition for you at no charge.   

 
How To Fill Out Forms For Serving the Order on Respondent 

 
You must fill out the following two forms so the court's order and other paperwork can be served 
on (delivered to) the respondent by a peace officer: 
 
DV-125, Request For Service of Protective Order Documents 
 
 Fill in your name and the respondent's name.  The clerk will fill in the rest. 
 
DV-127, Law Enforcement Information Sheet 
 
 Fill in everything on this form.  This is a confidential document which will be given 

to the police to help them serve court orders on the respondent and then enforce 
those orders.  Pursuant to Civil Rule 65.1, access to this form will be limited to the 
petitioner and court personnel. 

 
 The police need this information in order to find the respondent and in order to be 

as safe as possible when they contact the respondent.  So, please provide as much 
information as you can on this form.  If the police cannot locate the respondent, 
they cannot serve the order. 

 
 The police also need to be able to contact you. 
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Alaska Statutes 
 

AS 11.41.270   Stalking in the Second Degree. 

(a) A person commits the crime of stalking in the second degree if the person knowingly 
engages in a course of conduct that recklessly places another person in fear of death or 
physical injury, or in fear of the death or physical injury of a family member. 

(b) In this section, 

(1) “course of conduct” means repeated acts of nonconsensual contact involving the 
victim or a family member; 

(2) “device” includes software; 

(3) “family member” means a 

(A) spouse, child, grandchild, parent, grandparent, sibling, uncle, aunt, 
nephew, or niece, of the victim, whether related by blood, marriage, or 
adoption; 

(B) person who lives, or has previously lived, in a spousal relationship with 
the victim; 

(C) person who lives in the same household as the victim; or 

(D) person who is a former spouse of the victim or is or has been in a dating, 
courtship, or engagement relationship with the victim; 

(4) “nonconsensual contact” means any contact with another person that is initiated 
or continued without that person’s consent, that is beyond the scope of the 
consent provided by that person, or that is in disregard of that person’s 
expressed desire that the contact be avoided or discontinued; “nonconsensual 
contact” includes 

(A) following or appearing within the sight of that person; 

(B) approaching or confronting that person in a public place or on private 
property; 

(C) appearing at the workplace or residence of that person; 

(D) entering onto or remaining on property owned, leased, or occupied by 
that person; 

(E) contacting that person by telephone; 

(F) sending mail or electronic communications to that person; 
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(G) placing an object on, or delivering an object to, property owned, leased, 
or occupied by that person; 

(H)  following or monitoring that person with a global positioning device or 
similar technological means; 

(I) using, installing, or attempting to use or install a device for observing, 
recording, or photographing events occurring in the residence, vehicle, or 
workplace used by that person, or on the personal telephone or computer 
used by that person; 

(5) “victim” means a person who is the target of a course of conduct. 

(c) Stalking in the second degree is a class A misdemeanor. 

 
Sexual assault crimes described in AS 11.41.410-.450 
 
“Sexual contact” and “sexual penetration” mean any of the following: 
 

knowingly touching, directly or through clothing, the victim’s genitals, anus, or female 
breast; or knowingly causing the victim to touch, directly or through clothing, the 
defendant’s or victim’s genitals, anus, or female breast; or knowingly causing the victim 
to come into contact with semen; or genital intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio, anal 
intercourse, or an intrusion, however slight, of an object or any part of a person’s body 
into the genital or anal opening of another person’s body.  

 
AS 11.81.900(61)-(62) 

 
There are at least five types of sex crimes covered by the sexual assault protective 
order (AS 11.41.410-.450)  
 
1. You did not consent to the sexual act. 
 
2. You were not capable of giving consent due to mental disability, because you were 

unaware of the sexual act, or because you were incapacitated. 
 
3. Respondent worked for the Department of Corrections or was your legal guardian.  
 
4. Petitioner was under 13. Or petitioner was 13, 14, or 15 and at least four years younger 

than the respondent. 
 
5. Some situations where you were under 18, the respondent was over 18, and the 

respondent and was in a position of authority over you  (for example, your teacher, 
coach, employer, or religious leader). 

 




