# **RESPONSE PACKET**

## I WANT TO RESPOND TO A MOTION TO MODIFY ANOTHER STATE'S CHILD SUPPORT ORDER

Use this packet if you have been served with a motion asking the court to change another state's child support order, and you want to oppose (you disagree with) the motion. You must file a written response to the court within **<u>10 days</u>** after the motion was hand-delivered or emailed to you, or within **<u>13 days</u>** if the motion was mailed to you. You can use the forms in this packet to respond.

Form Number	Form Name				
WHAT IS INC	CLUDED IN THIS PACKET?				
<u>DR-371</u>	Response to Motion				
<u>DR-314</u>	Information Sheet				
<u>DR-305</u>	Child Support Guidelines Affidavit				
<b>DR-306</b> Shared Custody Child Support Calculation [Required only the parents share custody of the children. See page 2 of DR-3.					
OTHER INFORMATION					
Attorneys who provide unbundled services	If you need help with your case, you should talk to a lawyer. The Lawyer Referral Service at the Alaska Bar Association can give you names of lawyers who handle family law cases, including lawyers who can provide limited legal services ("unbundled legal services"). For a list of lawyers who do unbundled services, go to <a href="https://alaskabar.org/for-our-community/unbundled-legal-services/">https://alaskabar.org/for-our-community/unbundled-legal-services/</a> or call (907) 272-0352 or (800) 770-9999 for more information.				
<u>Family Law</u> <u>Self-Help Center</u>	For more information or help filling out these forms, visit the Family Law Self-Help Center's website at <a href="https://courts.alaska.gov/shc/family/index.htm">https://courts.alaska.gov/shc/family/index.htm</a> or call (907) 264-0851 (in Anchorage and outside Alaska) or (866) 279-0851 (toll free in Alaska but outside of Anchorage). A facilitator can explain court procedure and help you find forms, but cannot give legal advice.				
Flowcharts	Flowchart for Calculating Cost of Children's Health Insurance Flowchart for Calculating Prior Child Deduction				

### September 2023 Alaska Court System

The statutes, court rules, and forms in this packet are available on the court's website: <u>www.courts.alaska.gov/forms</u>.

Person Filing Response:			
Full Name:	Email:		
Mailing Address:	Phone:		
			76.7

☐ I authorize the court to email me court documents in this case to the email address above. If I change my email address or wish to receive documents by regular mail, I agree to notify the court. Use form TF-820, <u>Electronic Delivery of Case Documents</u>.

*NOTE:* If for any reason you do not want the other parent to know your physical address, you still must provide a mailing address so the court and the other parent can serve you by mail.

List court location, names of parties and	case number exactly	y as shown on the motion.	
IN THE SUPERIOR COURT FOR THE STAT	e of Alaska at _	(court location)	-
Petitioner (person who registered order), vs.	) ) ) ) CASE NO )	(case number on <i>Motion</i> )	_CI
Respondent (other parent's full name)	ў <b>то мс</b>	SPONSE TO MOTION DIFY ANOTHER STATE'S ILD SUPPORT ORDER	

#### 1. **RESPONSE**

I **agree** with the *Motion*.

I **do not agree** with the *Motion* for the reason(s) below. (*Attach any documents that support your response.*)

#### 2. **REQUIRED ATTACHMENTS**

Items (a) through (c) below MUST be attached to this response. Item (d) may also be required depending on the custody order. Check each box to indicate that you have completed and attached the item. These forms are available at the court and on the <u>court system's website</u>.

- (a) All documents that support your response to the motion.
- (b) *Information Sheet* (form <u>DR-314</u>)
- (c) Child Support Guidelines Affidavit (form <u>DR-305</u>) This form must be signed in front of a notary public or court clerk. Bring a photo ID. Fill in the requested information about your own finances and as much information about the finances of the other parent as possible. If you do not know specific information about the other parent's finances, write "unknown" in that space. You **must** attach a copy of your most recent federal tax return and most recent pay stubs to verify income and deductions.

(d) If one parent has **primary**<sup>1</sup> custody of all the children, you only need to fill out the <u>DR-305</u>. But if the court order requires **shared**<sup>2</sup>, **divided**<sup>3</sup>, or **hybrid**<sup>4</sup> custody, or you are asserting that one of these kinds of custody arrangements applies, then you must also fill out one of the forms below:

Shared Custody Child Support Calculation (form DR-306)

Divided Custody Child Support Calculation (form DR-307)

Hybrid Custody Child Support Calculation (form DR-308)

**CHILD SUPPORT INSTRUCTION BOOKLET:** For more information about how to complete the child support calculation forms (DR-305, DR-306, DR-307, and DR-308), see the booklet called *How to Calculate Child Support* (DR-310) on the court system's website. Also note: An Alaska court cannot change the duration of another state's child support order (the age of the child at which the duty of support ends) unless the laws of the state that issued the original order allows such a change. AS 25.25.604(a)(1) and AS 25.25.611(c) and (d).

<sup>4</sup> **Hybrid** custody means the court order requires that at least one parent have *primary* custody of one or more of the children, and the parents have *shared* custody of at least one of the children.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> **Primary** custody means the court order requires that the children reside with one parent more than 70% of the year (256 or more overnights).

Shared custody means the court order requires that the children reside with one parent at least 30% of the year (at least 110 overnights), but not more than 70% of the year (no more than 255 overnights).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> **Divided** custody means the court order requires that one parent have *primary* custody of some of the children, the other parent have *primary* custody of the rest of the children, and the parents do not *share* physical custody of any of their children.

#### 3. **INFORMATION**

not need to provide that inform allow the court and the other	e other parent to know your current address or employer, you do nation. However, you <b>must</b> provide a mailing address that will parent to mail you required documents. That address may be in as you will receive all papers sent to you.
Your full name:	Date of birth:
	ent):
Phone:	Email:
Employer's address:	
<b>NOTE:</b> You must sign this in front of at no charge. Bring a photo ID with	of a notary. A court clerk can provide this notary service for you you for the notarization.
I swear or affirm that the above s knowledge and belief.	statements and any attachments are true to the best of my
Date	Signature of Person Filing Response (Only sign in front of a court clerk or notary.)
	Printed Name
	d before me at, Alaska
on Date	·
	Clerk of Court, Notary Public or other person authorized to administer oaths.
(SEAL)	My commission expires:

### **NEXT STEPS**

- **1. SERVE COPY ON OTHER PARENT.** You must complete the Certificate of Service on the next page, explaining how you delivered copies of everything you are filing to the other parent (or his or her attorney if the other parent is represented by an attorney).
- **2.** Copies. Keep a copy of all documents and attachments for yourself.
- **3. Filing Location**. Mail or hand-deliver this form and all required attachments to the Alaska court location written near the top of page one. For a list of court mailing addresses, go to <a href="http://www.courts.alaska.gov/courtdir/index.htm">www.courts.alaska.gov/courtdir/index.htm</a>.

**<u>REPLY</u>**. After the other parent receives your response, he or she has 8 days to deliver to the court his or her reply to your response. The other parent must send you a copy of any reply sent to the court.

**HEARING.** The judge may order a hearing if one is needed to decide any disputes about the evidence in your case. You will be notified if a hearing is scheduled. If it will be difficult for you to attend the hearing in person, contact the court to ask if you can participate by telephone.

[You must complete the Certificate of Service on the next page.]

#### **CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE**

[MUST BE COMPLETED]

I certify that I served a copy of my completed *Response* and all the documents checked in paragraph 2 as follows:

#### **On Other Parent or Attorney or Custodian**

☐ I mailed (first class mail) ☐ I delivered by hand to the other parent (or his or her attorney if the other parent is represented by an attorney) a copy of:

- this *Response (DR-371)*, and
- all the documents checked in paragraph 2.

Name of Other Parent/Attorney/Custodian:\_\_\_\_\_

Address:

Date mailed or delivered:

Signature of Person Filing Response

Print Name

Clerk: This form is CONFIDENTIAL and must be kept in a confidential envelope or file.

**Information Sheet** 

Case N	Number:	Court Location:									
	I am not filling out the following providing all this information has alre										
1.	Full Name of Party A/Parent A:										
	Date of Birth:										
2.	Full Name of Party B/Parent B:										
	Date of Birth:	Social Security N	0.*								
3.	Children Involved in This Case:										
	Full Name of Child	Date of Birth	Social Security Number*								
I certif	fy that the above information is correct	t.									
	Date	Sig	gnature of Party								
			Print Name								
* Dia	sclosuro of social socurity numbers is	mandatory under AS 21	E 24 210(f) AS 19 E0 290(a)								

\* Disclosure of social security numbers is mandatory under AS 25.24.210(f), AS 18.50.280(a) and 42 USC 666(a)(13). The numbers may be used to insure compliance with the child support order.

#### IN THE SUPERIOR COURT FOR THE STATE OF ALASKA AT

Parent A (Plaintiff or Co-Petitioner)	) ) )
	) ) CASE NO.
Parent B (Defendant or Co-Petitioner)	) CHILD SUPPORT ) GUIDELINES AFFIDAVIT
	tions, see Civil Rule 90.3 ( <u>ak-courts.info/civrules</u> )

I attached a copy of my most recent tax return and 3 pay stubs to verify this information. [Important: delete social security numbers & account numbers from any documents you attach.]

I did not attach supporting documents, because:

The amounts below are MONTHLY. YEARLY. YOU must check one for the math on this form to work. If you decide to change from monthly to yearly (or yearly to monthly) after you start filling out the form, then start over with a blank form, or it will not work properly.]

Α.	<b>Income<sup>1</sup></b> [Do not list ATAP or SSI below.] Gross wages or salary Value of employer-provided housing, food, etc. <sup>2</sup> Unemployment compensation Alaska PFD (divide by 12 if using monthly amounts)	PARENT A	PARENT B
	TOTAL INCOME		
Β.	<b>Deductions Allowed under Civil Rule 90.3</b> Federal, state, and local income tax Social security tax or self-employment tax Medicare tax Employment security tax (SUI) Mandatory union dues Mandatory retirement or pension plan contributions Voluntary retirement contributions <sup>3</sup> Spousal support (alimony) ordered and currently paid Child support or in-kind support for prior children <sup>4</sup> Work-related child care for children in this case Health insurance premiums for parent <sup>5</sup> Life insurance premiums for eligible beneficiaries <sup>6</sup>		
	TOTAL DEDUCTIONS		

<sup>1</sup> Other common examples of income are self-employment and rental income, "gig" work, Alaska Native dividends, VA disability, SSDI, worker's comp, investment earnings, and pensions. This is not a full list.

<sup>2</sup> Put employer or military provided COLA, and military BAH and BAS, on this line.

<sup>3</sup> Only if plan earnings are tax-free or tax-deferred. When added to mandatory retirement contributions, this deduction cannot be more than 7.5% of total income.

<sup>&</sup>quot;Prior children" are children from a different relationship born or adopted before the children in this case. For more information, see "Prior Child Deduction Chart" (https://ak-courts.info/pcdchart).

<sup>5</sup> This deduction cannot be more than 10% of total income.

<sup>&</sup>quot;Eligible beneficiaries" are the other parent in this case and all children that you and the other parent have 6 together. If there are additional beneficiaries of the policy, divide the premium by total number of beneficiaries, then multiply that number by eligible beneficiaries. The maximum deduction is \$1200 per year (\$100 per month).

С.	A	djus	ted Annual Income	PARENT A	PARENT B
	1.		TAL INCOME from section A is <b>monthly</b> , ply by 12 and write the amount here. If		
		year	ly, repeat the amount from section A here:		
	2.		TAL DEDUCTIONS from section B are <b>monthly</b> ply by 12 and write the amount here. If	1	
		year	ly, repeat the amount from section B here:		
	3.	Subt	ract line 2 from line 1 to get NET INCOME:		
	4.		e 3 is <b>more</b> than \$138,000, write ,000 here. If not, repeat line 3 here:		
	5.		TAL INCOME from line 1 is \$30,000 or		
		the a	subtract \$7,500 from line 1 and write mount here. If line 1 is <b>more</b> than \$30,000, repeat line 4 here:		
	6		pare the amounts on lines 4 and 5.	,	
	0.	-	e the <b>smaller</b> amount of those two lines here:		
D.			Adjusted Annual Income from line C.6 by	/:	
			r one child, r two children,	x	x
			r three children, and	<u>^</u>	^
		.03 m	ore for each additional child		
			TOTAL		
	A	NNU	AL CHILD SUPPORT		
	(/	Amou	nt from TOTAL line in paragraph D <b>or</b> \$600, wh	ichever is <b>larger</b> .)	
E.		lontk	Ily Child Support Payment [Types of custod	ware defined in Civ	il Pule 00 3(f) 1
<b>L</b> .	_	_	<u>Primary Custody</u> . The children will stay with or	-	<u>ii Kule 90.3(1)</u> .]
	L		(256) or more of their overnights during the ye	•	al
			Child Support amount of the parent who does		
			most of the year and divide by 12:	want D	\$
	Г	<b>□</b>	to be paid each month by Parent A. Pa	rent B.	
	L	_ Z.	<u>Shared Custody</u> . [Attach form <u>DR-306</u> .] The children will stay with each parent at least	30% (110) of the c	)ver-
			nights during the year. Child support payment		
			to be paid by D Parent A. D Parent B.		· · ·
		3.	Divided Custody. [Attach form DR-307.]		
			Each parent will have primary custody of one o		en,
			and the parents will not share custody of any o Child support payment (section 6 of DR-307):	r the children.	\$
			to be paid by Parent A. Parent B.		Ψ
		4.	Hybrid Custody. [Attach form DR-308.]		
			The parents share custody of at least one child	-	
			parents have primary custody of a different chi Child support payment (section 8 of DR-308):	ld or children.	¢
			to be paid by Parent A. Parent B.		\$
Page	2 of	2	. ,		
DR-3	05 (9	/23)			
CHILI	) suf	PPORT	GUIDELINES AFFIDAVIT		Civil Rule 90.3

#### F. Health Care Coverage for the Children

### 1. Health Insurance

		a.	P	Parent	A's ei	nploye	le for s er or u ice	nion	- P	arent	t B′s	emp	loyer	r or	unio	n	ledica	aid)	
		b.		he chi cribe:		have o	other h	nealt	h insu	rance	e or o	care	avail	able	e? [	] Ye	es 🗌	] No	
		C.	F F	Parent Parent ugh th	: A at a : B at a ne abc	a mon a mon ive pei	he chil thly co thly co rson's ress is:	st to st to	Pare Pare emplo	nt A d nt B d yer [	of \$_ of \$_ u	nion				*			
			The	cost v	vill be	divide	d betv	veen	the p	arent	ts 🗌	] equ	ally.		une	equa	lly, b	ecause:	
	2.	Sho	e r » alth C ould u	extra c none c Childr <u>Care E</u> uninsu	ost to of the ren's H <u>xpens</u> ired h	the p cost c lealth <u>es Not</u> ealth c	Insura <u>t Cover</u> care ex	to in inclu ince <u>red t</u> pens	clude ded a Costs by Insi ses of	childi s par " ( <u>ak-</u> <u>uranc</u> the c	ren i t of d <u>-cour</u> <u>xe</u> chil <u>dr</u>	n the child <u>ts.in</u> ren (	e par supp fo/ce up to	ent' cort <u>shea</u> c \$5	s ow . Fo althin ,000	n co r mc <mark>Isura</mark>	overag ore in ance)	ge, fo, see	
		yea	r) be	e share	ed equ	Jally b	y the p	barer	its?	_ Ye	S _		, bec	aus	e:				
G.							yment owes s											<b>sts)</b> support	]
	1.	Mo	nthly	Child	Supp	ort Pay	ment	from	n para	grapł	ו E a	bove	:		\$_				
	2.						insura						otrac	<u>t</u>					
	_		•		,		e mont	'		•					- \$_				
	3.						insura e mont						add		+\$				
	4		•				PPORT	•		-	ayn	cnt.			_ب י _\$_				
н.	Se	aso	nal I	ncom	ne. Is	oblig	or's inc	come	seas	onal?						Rule	e 90.3	3(c)(5).]	
Print o	r Ty	vpe N	lame	2					S	ignat	ure								
Subscri	bed	and	swori	n to or	affirm	ed bef	ore me	at _					,	Alas	ka or	ו			
			(S	EAL)						-			-		-			rized to	
I certify this for Page 3 (		at on the	othei	r parer	at _ nt by [	ema	[da il.   🗌 r	ate/ti nail.	me], I 🗌 ha	gave Ind-de	a co eliver	py of y. Si	gnatı	ure:					

#### SHARED CUSTODY CHILD SUPPORT CALCULATION

Case Number:	
Parent A (Plaintiff/Co-Petitioner): _	

Parent B (Defendant/Co-Petitioner):

<u>Instructions</u>: Attach this form to <u>DR-305</u>, *Child Support Guidelines Affidavit* or to <u>DR-105</u>, *Petition for Dissolution of Marriage*, to explain the child support calculation if the parents will have "shared physical custody" per Civil Rule 90.3(f). "Shared physical custody" means that all of the children will stay with each parent at least 30% (110) of the overnights during the year.

		PARENT A	PARENT B
1.	Adjusted annual income (from line C.6 on form DR-305 <b>or</b> from page 4, line C.6 on form DR-105):	\$	\$
2.	Multiply line 1 by:		
	.20 for one child .27 for two children .33 for three children and add .03 for each additional child Annual Child Support (if less than \$600, write "\$600" here):	x \$	× \$
3.	Percentage of time each parent will have physical custody:	%	%
4.	Percentage of time the <b>other</b> parent will have physical custody:	%	%
5.	Multiply line 2 and line 4:	\$	\$
6.	Compare amounts in line 5. <b>The higher amount</b> <b>is the parent who will pay support</b> . Subtract the smaller amount from the larger and write the difference in the column of the parent who will pay support (the other parent's line will be blank):	\$	\$
7.	Multiply line 6 by 1.5 (one line will be blank):	¢	¢
		₽	⊅
8.	<b>Annual Child Support</b> . For the parent who will pay support, fill in the smaller of line 2 or line 7:	\$	\$
9.	Number of payments per year: [This number i	s almost always 12, o	nce for every

- Number of payments per year: \_\_\_\_ [This number is almost always 12, once for every month. See Civil Rule 90.3(b)(1)(D) (<u>https://ak-courts.info/civrules</u>) for exceptions.] Months when child support will **not** be paid: \_\_\_\_\_
- 10. Divide line 8 by line 9 to get Monthly Child Support Payment: **\$**\_\_\_\_\_\_to be paid by Parent A. Parent B. **Write this amount on** <u>either</u>:
  - form <u>DR-305</u>, page 2, line E.2. <u>or</u>
  - form <u>DR-105</u>, page 11, line A.3.b

Parent A's Signature

Parent B's Signature

Type or Print Parent B's Name