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SMALL CLAIMS INFORMATION SHEET 

What is a Small Claims Case? 

A small claims case is a simplified type of court case for a person to try to recover money or personal 
property worth $10,000 or less.  If your claim is over $10,000, you can still use small claims court, but 

you must give up the right to collect any amount over $10,000.  You may, however, recover interest on 
any money you are awarded and court costs over the $10,000 maximum. 

You do not need a lawyer in a small claims case, although you may have one if you wish.  Small claims 
court can only be used if all parties agree to use this simplified procedure. 

Small claims procedure cannot be used for: 

 disagreements about title to real property (land or buildings) 
 actions to recover possession of real property (land or buildings) 
 evictions 

 claims against the State of Alaska or the United States government 

 injunctive relief (a court order requiring a person to do or not to do a specified act) 
 actions to foreclose or enforce statutory, common law, or possessory liens 

You can find more information about small claims at https://courts.alaska.gov/shc/sc/index.htm  

The Alaska Small Claims Handbook and all small claims forms are also available in paper copy from any 
local court clerk. 
 

COMPARING PROCEDURES 
 

 SMALL CLAIMS FORMAL CIVIL 

Filing Fee $50 if claim is $2500 or less 

$100 if claim is more than 

$2500 

$150 in district court 

$250 in superior court 

Amount of Claim Up to $10,000 Up to $100,000 in district court 

Any amount in superior court 

Jury Trial No Yes, if one is requested 

Need for a Lawyer Usually no Usually yes 

Formal Rules of Evidence at Trial No Yes 

Forms Supplied by Court Yes Very few 

Service of Process to Defendants 
Outside Alaska 

Only allowed in some cases. Allowed. 

Complexity of Procedures Approximately 15 - 20 rules 

govern small claims cases. 

Over 80 court rules govern 

formal civil procedure. 

Estimated Time Before Trial 4-12 weeks after answer is 
filed. 

6 - 10 months after answer is 
filed. 

 
**These are not all of the differences between the two types of cases.  You can read in more detail 
about the items in this chart and other differences in the Alaska Small Claims Handbook (SC-100)** 

 
 

 

https://courts.alaska.gov/shc/sc/index.htm
https://public.courts.alaska.gov/web/forms/docs/sc-100.pdf
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Sequence of Events in a Small Claims Case 
 

     Plaintiff 

files case 

     

           

     Plaintiff attempts to have 

Complaint and Summons 

served on Defendant 

     

           

           

  Defendant is not served. 

Plaintiff may request alternate 

service under Civil Rule 4. 

  

Defendant is served. 

      

           

           

Defendant 

Pays Claim 

 

   Defendant files 

small claims 

Answer 

  Defendant files 

request for 

formal rules and 

a formal 

Answer 

 Defendant 

does not pay 

claim and 

does not file 

Answer 

           

         

Plaintiff files 

Dismissal.  

Case closed. 

 Answer 
admits 

claim 

 Answer 

denies 

claim 

 Answer 
denies claim 

and requests 

change of 

venue 

 

 Answer 

denies claim 

and makes 

counterclaim 

   Plaintiff files 

request for 

default 

judgment and 

serves on 

defendant 

           

           

 Court awards 

Judgment.  

Case closed. 

  Plaintiff 

agrees or 

disagrees with 

change of 

venue request 

 Plaintiff 

does not 

request 

formal 

rules. 

Court 

deems 

counter-

claim 

denied. 

 Plaintiff 

files request 

for formal 

rules and 

files formal 

Reply to 

counter-

claim 

  Court may 

hold 

hearing. 

          

  Court decides 

where venue 

  Case is no 

longer small 

  Judgment 

or 

  will be   claims, use 

formal rules 

  Dismissal. 

Case closed. 

          

     

Small Claims 

Trial 

     

          

          

     

Judgment. 

Case Closed. 

 

  

 

 
 

After case is closed, if judgment is not paid 

voluntarily, the creditor may begin 

execution procedures.    

 


